I ‘Saw’ Jesus Today…

I ‘Saw’ Jesus Today…

As I was walking out of Wal-Mart in West Haven today after church (at about 12:15), there were two men standing outside of the exit door. One of the men (Andrew) asked me if I would donate to a Christian ministry. Beside him, on his right side, was a large easel with a big poster. The ministry name on the poster was – Time For A Change Ministry.

Andrew began to explain the ministry to me.  Time For A Change Ministry is a 4 – 6 month, non-profit organization, located in Bridgeport, CT. It is a Christ-centered, Bible-based, rehabilitation ministry for men who are at least 18 years of age. This residential program treats addictions in a Christian atmosphere of love, discipline, accountability and purpose.

Men who desire to continue their healing after the 6-month program can relocate to the Teen Challenge Training Center in Reherersburg, PA.  Teen Challenge (also a Christ-based residential program) provides vocational training. Men who have not graduated from high school can earn a General Educational Development (GED)/high school equivalency diploma.

Residents who complete these programs receive on-going care, even after they graduate. Staff members continue their support as they evaluate and monitor past graduates, who are transitioning back into their everyday lives.

So You Ask, Where/How Did I ‘See’ Jesus Today?

I ‘saw’ Jesus in the eyes and hearts of Andrew and Roger. Andrew is a current resident of Time For A Change, Roger is a former graduate of Teen Challenge. They both “told” me how real Jesus is to them and how He has transformed their lives.  The “telling” came, not only from their words but also from the light of peace in their eyes and the joy that seemed to radiate from their innermost beings. This is the kind of peace and joy that can come only from the inside.  From a life-saving/life-changing relationship with Jesus of Nazareth. And it’s such a dramatic change of heart, mind, and life, that it seeps out of the person transformed (You anoint my head with oil; my cup runs over – Psalm 23:5), for all the world to see.

If you have a deep understanding of all of the fullness of who Jesus is (as Savior, Healer, Deliverer, God of ALL hope and restoration, etc…) and you know what He has done for you (as a Christian – both now and into eternity ∞), you will understand what I’m telling you. You have then experienced the agape love (perfect love) Jesus died to make our reality (real/new life, freedom in Christ – that begins now!) John 10:10.

Hand and Foot Warmers – Warm the Heart Too 

One of my Wal-Mart purchases today was hand and foot warmers (a great side ministry during these cold, wintery months). I keep a supply of both in my truck.  I give them to anyone working outside in the cold (police officers, school crossing guards, people who work at grocery stores rounding up shopping carts, construction workers – you get the idea

While talking to Andrew and Roger, they said they would be stationed at Wal-Mart (collecting contributions to the ministry) until 7:00 tonight. It was pretty cold today (28°F) when I left the store at 12:15, so I gave a few hand & toe warmers to my brothers-in-Christ, Andrew and Roger. They both gladly received them. Then, Roger said, (with a big smile of appreciation – for His LORD, on his face): “Who says God doesn’t supply all our needs!” 🙂

Chicken Is Good, God Is Great!

Roger offered to carry my shopping bags for me.  As we walked to my truck, we talked a little about the goodness/loving mercies of our King, Jesus.  I said yes brother, God is good. He then made me laugh as he joyfully said – “Chicken is good, God is great“!!! 🙂

The Sky Is The Limit

Time For A Change Ministry’s, Facebook page (link is above) says – “Christ is the foundation (of their ministry) and the sky is the limit.” I believe the sky is the limit for anyone whose foundation is Jesus of Nazareth! Amen and Amen.

Let Your Light So Shine…

You are the light of the world…Let your light so shine before all that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven (Matthew 5:14, 16).  When you see the Light of life and love in your midst, you know it; as I did today!

Let His Church be that Light every day, everywhere, our feet trod.

Leave a Reply

